V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University (Official Site)

The Department of Physics and Energy (DPE) is the first in Ukraine a double-subordination department under the Ministry of Education & Science and the National Academy of Sciences. The department implements the idea of fundamental integration between academic science and higher education. The creation of such a department was motivated both by the time and energetic & economic challenges faced Ukraine.

The Department of Physics and Energy was established on July 12, 2001, as a result of the joint Decree of the Ministry of Education & Science and the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine. Date of foundation and character of modern problems, which must be solved by the department, determine its scope as the “Department of Third Millennium.”

The members of the department, students, and graduate students engaged in intensive research work. The results of basic research are regularly published in leading national and international journals such as Physical Review Letters and Physical Review. The results of applied research are widely used in engineering as well. In December 2008 the Project “Energy efficiency improvement of turbine installations for TEC and TES by thermal upgrading, rehabilitation and improvement of their operation modes”, with the author’s Academician Yu.M. Matsevity and Professor V.V. Solovey from the DPE, was awarded the State Prize of Ukraine.

The general and special subjects at senior courses are taught by the leading scientists, who work at the forefront of contemporary fundamental and applied science. The content of special courses is updating regularly in order to fit the requirements of customers, representatives of industry, and scientific institutions.

The Department of Physics and Energy is providing full-time education. The term of study for the students is 5.5 years. The department prepares specialists in the field of traditional and new technologies for obtaining, transformation, and using the energy in the field of Applied Physics. Training is accomplishing for the following specializations: “Information technologies in power”, “Alternative energy sources and thermal physics”.

The department consists of three chairs:

  • The Chair of Information Technologies in Physical and Power Systems. This chair is focused on control systems development in power complexes, mathematical and computer modeling of power conversion, and operating of power systems.
  • The Chair of Physics of Alternative Energy Technologies and Ecology. The activity is focused on studying the physical fundamentals of power conversion, design, and development of both traditional and alternative energy systems: solar, hydrogen, wind, geothermal, and environmentally friendly transport as well.
  • The Chair of Thermophysics and Molecular Physics. The activity of this chair is connected with the learning of thermal and molecular basis for traditional and renewable energy transformations.


Graduates of the DPE are highly qualified specialists in physical, chemical, and mathematical modeling of energy conversion and operating of complex power systems, computer control of power systems, and newest technological equipment. Activities of graduates are related to studying and using both the conventional kinds of energy sources, including nuclear and thermonuclear, and solar, wind, hydrogen, geothermal, and other renewable energy sources.

Graduates of the DPE can work in leading scientific, industrial and manufacturing establishments, private enterprises, as well as in power and electricity distribution companies in Ukraine and abroad. They can also be teachers at universities, high schools, and colleges. All graduates are provided with the job. After receiving their Bachelor’s or Master’s degree they can continue their education and learn graduate or postgraduate courses in Ukraine, Russia, the USA, Germany, Canada, Japan, and other countries.

Recently, it was introduced a new specialization “Computer Physics” in the department. Computer education there is a complete programming course for physicists, accounting for the requirements of research groups and software developing companies.

The specialization “Computer Physics” includes the following courses:

  1. General physics, calc, and laboratory courses. Fundamentals of electronics, programmable electronics.
  2. High-school mathematics, methods of mathematical physics.
  3. Calculation methods and mathematical modeling.
  4. Complete course of theoretical physics.
  5. Programming (general subjects): graphics, office technologies, high-level languages C, C++, Fortran; Internet technologies, application packages.
  6. Programming in physics (special courses): parallel computing and their applications in physics; cluster and grid technologies; object-oriented programming in physics; using of Mathematica and MATLAB packages; methods of the computational experiment; using of physics methods in the economic and social problems; computer control of the physical experiments and technological processes in power systems; information technologies in power systems and systems of environmental safety.


Knowledge of physics (the basis of science), mathematics (the language of science), computer technologies (the instrument of science), will make graduates leading experts, who can successfully apply their knowledge and skill after graduation.