V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University (Official Site)

The Research Institute of Astronomy at V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University was established in January 2002 on the basis of the University Astronomical Observatory founded as far back as 1808. Today it is one of the leading astronomical institutions in Ukraine, engaged in fundamental and applied research in the field of Solar, Lunar and Planetary Physics, Physics of Satellites, Asteroids, and Comets, Fundamental Astronomy and Stellar Astronometry, development of methods for enhanced space distribution in astronomical observations. The Institute is an international Solar Service Station and since 1933 Astronomical Observatory conducts regular observations and research within the State Time Service Program. The Institute has an observational out-station and a scientific library. It also has a 0.7-m reflector, Repsold meridian circle, a spectroheliograph, a transit instrument, a 0.2-m Zeus refractor, a 0.27-m reflector, a special coherent-optical system, listed in the State Register of Scientific Objects Constituting National Patrimony, and many other instruments.

The Institute provides research and training facilities for University undergraduate and graduate students majoring in Astronomy and postgraduate students.

Today the staff of the Institute, including the University Astronomy Department numbers 5 Doctors of Science and 20 PhDs. Their research activity earned them 4 State Awards of Ukraine and 4 M. Barabashov Ukrainian National Academy of Sciences Awards. 22 objects in the Solar System (craters on the Moon, Mars, and Venus as well as 12 minor planets) are named after Kharkiv astronomers and graduates from the University Astronomy Department.

The Institute researchers are members of the International Astronomical Union and European Astronomical Society. They conduct their studies in close cooperation with their colleagues from the USA, Germany, Italy, Sweden, Poland, Finland, and Russia.